Ok, before I start the post I have to say I love Douglas Adams’ series The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy! 🙂 🙂

Anyway… Last weekend I started having UTI symptoms again. I didn’t want to go to ER over the 4th of July, I knew no matter what hour I went it would be crazy, so I decided to wait until our primary care office was open again Tuesday. I went in and did a urine sample, which the doctor looked at under the microscope before coming in to see me, and it looked normal OTHER THAN having red blood cells in it, and one or two epithelial cells as well. He didn’t think there was an infection, but started me on amoxycillin just in case, and sent the rest of the sample off to the lab to be cultured. We talked about what else it could be and his first thought (with the RBCs) was kidney stones, I reminded him of my lupus as we were talking about medications, and he said that it could be lupus nephritis starting up too. He told me to call back and check for the culture results in two to three days, so I called and left a message today for someone to look in my records and see if the results were back. A few hours later I checked back and there was a message in our voicemail inbox from a woman at the clinic letting me know the results were back and perfectly clean. I’ve since stopped my antibiotic. By the time I got the message it was too late for me to reach my nurse at the OB’s office, so I’ll call in the morning and find out how they want to proceed. I’m guessing they’ll want me to head to my rheumatologist, but I do want to check and find out if they have testing they want to do as well, so I’m going to hopefully hear back with their thoughts sometime tomorrow. Thankfully this all happened before meeting the perinatologist (as I’ll only see him a few times and am unsure how to get messages to him about changes with my health), so it’ll come up during the consult we have next week with him. At this point I’m trying to keep in mind that it could still be something minor causing all the kidney pain (and other things, but kidney pain and urine odor are my main issues right now) and that my rheumatologist does keep an eye on my kidneys just to be sure nothing changes there. However, my concern is that this pregnancy has well… not been easy on my body. Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t expect it to be, but it is causing health issues for me, so that is what I’m referring to. My lupus is definitely not in remission at this point – I’m sporting a butterfly/malar rash, I’ve got a sore/blister in my mouth (which hasn’t happened in… a year? I know it’s been at least 6 or 8 months now), my joints have been bothering me, etc., so that’s not helping my worry, and my worry isn’t helping with any of that. We’ll see what the doctors office says, hopefully they’ll be able to get back to me the same day (it depends on if my ob is in or not, or on call, etc), and we can move forward with testing and treating.

